Dolly Parton has released her latest album, Run, Rose, Run, which serves as a companion to the original novel, Run, Rose, Run, co-authored by James Patterson and Parton, set for release on March 7th.

Alongside the album, Dolly has also released its third single and lyric video for “Woman Up (And Take It Like A Man).” She said of the song in a press release, “I just think this song really suits both of the female characters in the book. If you’re going to be in this business, you’ve got to toughen up! You gotta ‘woman up and take it like a man’ – be as good as or better than all these men…managers, record label folks, and these other characters that give them a hard time in the story.”

She added, “So, this was one song that I think is kind of like another ‘9 to 5,’ another woman’s anthem. I had all female voices on that one, and I think it came out really good!”

Parton will be hosting from Las Vegas the 57th Academy of Country Music Awards on March 7th, available worldwide on Amazon Prime.

  • Run, Rose, Run Track Listing:

  • 1. Run

  • 2. Big Dreams and Faded Jeans

  • 3. Demons (Guest Artist Ben Haggard)

  • 4. Driven

  • 5. Snakes In The Grass

  • 6. Blue Bonnet Breeze

  • 7. Woman Up (And Take It Like A Man)

  • 8. Firecracker

  • 9. Secrets

  • 10. Lost and Found (Guest Artist Joe Nichols)

  • 11. Dark Night, Bright Future

  • 12. Love or Lust (Guest Artist Richard Dennison)

Join the Family

Get Our Latest Articles in Your Inbox

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.